Education and Government


Habersham County's public school system includes one 6-A high school, 3 middle schools, 8 elementary schools, and a satellite location for the Mountain Education High School.  Private schools are available for K-12 and include Christian and specialty schools.

public school system has an enrollment approaching 7,000 students.  A continuum of educational services is available to all students through an instructional program which ranges from kindergarten through secondary level, as well as extensive opportunities for those with special needs.  The public school system is headed by an elected 5-member board and appointed superintendent.  The private schools and the Mountain Education High School have their own boards.  

Tallulah Falls School in Tallulah Falls, a nationally ranked private college preparatory day and boarding school, includes grades six through 12.  For a complete listing of schools in Habersham County, visit the Chamber’s Business Directory

State-of-the-art Habersham Central High
School opened Fall 2012


Habersham County government is headed by a county manager and an elected five-member Board of Commissioners.  The county government is responsible for or assists with the following:

  • County Maintained Roads
  • Habersham County Water Authority
  • Habersham County Industrial Development Authority
  • Habersham County Airport Authority
  • Animal Care and Control
  • 911 Emergency Communications
  • Emergency Management
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Habersham County Fire Rescue
  • Sheriff’s Office & County Detention Center
  • County-wide athletics and recreational programming (youth to senior citizens)
  • Senior Center
  • Elections and Registrations
  • County Judicial Systems
  • Planning Commission
  • Building Department
  • Code Enforcement
  • Social Services
  • Library System
  • And More

For information about the county, visit

Habersham County includes the following seven municipalities:  Alto, Baldwin, Clarkesville, Cornelia, Demorest, Mt. Airy and Tallulah Falls. 

Each municipality has an elected mayor and council or commission.  For more information on these municipalities, visit or the Chamber’s Business Directory



Habersham County Courthouse in Clarkesville